In honor of World Lung Cancer Day, on August 1, 2015, the Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation (ALCF), in collaboration with the Van Auken Private Foundation (VAPF), is requesting applications from teams of young investigators that address unmet medical needs in the topic areas listed below, for its 2015 Young Innovators Team Awards (YITA). High-risk, high-reward, multidisciplinary, collaborative research projects that are currently unfunded will be awarded $500,000 for a period of 2-3 years (depending on the proposed research).

Topic Areas

Lung cancer patient-oriented research in the following topic areas is preferred (however, all submissions will be evaluated). Patient-oriented research: Research conducted with human subjects (or on material of human origin such as tissues, specimens and cognitive phenomena) for which an investigator directly interacts with human subjects. This area of research includes:

  • Early detection and screening using novel, validated biomarkers
  • Targeting the tumor microenvironment- combination strategies
  • Gender differences in lung cancer incidence, progression and mortality
  • Small Cell Lung Cancer: identifying and targeting specific underlying genomic abnormalities
  • Causative factors in non-smokers
  • Are viruses an etiological agent for a subset of lung cancer?

Key Dates

RFA Announcement: August 1, 2015
Online submission portal begins accepting applications: August 15, 2015
Application Submission Deadline: October 15, 2015 (applicants are given 2.5 months to get together their teams and prepare an application)
Peer Review Round 1: November 30, 2015
Peer Review Round 2: Top 5 applicants present to the Scientific Review Committee/in-person review: December 11, 2015
Award Announcements: December 21, 2015
Award Start Date: January 1, 2015
Award End Date: December 31, 2017 or December 31, 2018 (depending on the proposal)

Review Process

  • ALCF grant review and management is a nimble, rapid, flexible and transparent process. YITA 2015 recipients will be selected through two rounds of rigorous peer review.
  • For the first round of review, each application will be reviewed and scored by three independent peer reviewers out of a global pool of KOLs.
  • The top 5-8 submissions will progress into the second round of peer review, where the teams will present to the YITA 2015 Scientific Review Committee, which will make the final decision in consultation with the ALCF Scientific Advisory Board.
  • The Scientific Review Committee for YITA 2015 is comprised of: David Carbone, MD, PhD (The Ohio State University), David Gandara, MD (University of California, Davis), Caroline Dive, PhD (Cancer Research UK) and Pasi Janne, MD, PhD (Dana Farber Cancer Institute).
  • Additional members may be added to the committee based on the technical area of expertise of the finalist teams, and the focus of the proposed research.
  • Progress of each research project will be reviewed and decisions on continued funding will be made by ALCF leadership and the Young Innovator Team Scientific Review Committee.